How to Remove Your Google Search History Before Google’s New Privacy Policy Takes Effect

Google has been collecting  search history personalization. Google sometimes personalizes your search results based on your past search activity on Google. This search history personalization includes searches you’ve done and results you’ve clicked. Since the information used to customize your results differs depending on whether you’re signed-in or signed-out, the instructions for turning off search history personalization are a little different in each case as described below. 

Signed in searches

To disable history-based search customizations while signed in, you’ll need to remove all Web History from your Google Account. Note that removing this service deletes all your old searches from Web History and pauses your Web History. You can also choose to remove individual items, as well as pause your Web History.

Alternatively, you can turn off personal results, which will also disable several other personalization features, such as the ability to search across content shared by your friends. Personal results are currently not available in all languages.

Signed out searches

If you aren’t signed in to a Google Account, your search experience will be personalized based on past search information linked to a cookie new window on your browser. To disable these types of personalizations, follow these steps:

  1. Visit google.com/history/optout new window when not signed in to a Google Account. (If you see the Google homepage, try visiting the link again.)
  2. On the resulting page, click Disable customizations based on search activity. (Because this preference is stored in a cookie, it’ll affect anyone else who uses the same browser and computer as you).

Or, if you’d rather just delete the current cookie storing searches from your browser and start fresh, clear your browser’s cookies.

Note: If you’ve disabled signed-out search history personalization, you’ll need to disable it again after clearing your browser cookies. Clearing your Google cookie clears your search settings, thereby turning history-based customizations back on.

Here’s how you can do that:

1. Sign into your Google account.

2. Go to https://google.com/history

3. Click “remove all Web History.”

4. Click “ok.”

Note that removing your Web History also pauses it. Web History will remain off until you enable it again.

If you have several Google accounts, you will need to do this for each of them.

by http://support.google.com

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “How to Remove Your Google Search History Before Google’s New Privacy Policy Takes Effect”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s